BECKY SHAW

BY GINA GIONFRIDDO

BECKY SHAW
Play 8
FROM:
OCTOBER 25
DIRECTED BY:
ANNA CRAWFORD
CAST INCLUDES:
SANDY GORE
CATHERINE MOORE
ANNA LISE PHILLIPS
RUPERT REID
MATTHEW ZEREMES
RUNNING TIME:
2 HOURS 20 MINS
INCLUDING INTERVAL

DESIGNER: STEVEN BUTLER
LIGHTING DESIGNER: SCOTT ALLAN

The best laid schemes oft go awry. Max (Rupert Reid), a cynical straight-talking financier, and Becky (Anna Lise Phillips), highly strung and self-doubting, are hardly a perfect match. When Suzanna (Catherine Moore) and Andrew (Matthew Zeremes) set Max up on a date with Becky, no one could have predicted the horrifyingly hilarious outcomes. Suzanna’s recently widowed mother Susan (Sandy Gore) provides an acerbic commentary on money and class and the ethics of moral responsibilities. Sweet, funny and sharp, BECKY SHAW is peppered with moments of schadenfreude as the variously dysfunctional characters careen towards the implosive finale.

SYDNEY MORNING HERALD:

“Crawford's well-balanced cast clearly have the measure of Gionfriddo's sardonic humour.

Phillips excels in the title role, by turns goofy, pitiful then edgy as Becky's passivity switches to something more passive-aggressive. Reid is very good, too, playing an archetype whose ruthless put-downs and non-PC pronouncements mask a fear of rejection rooted in a blighted childhood.

Moore and Zemeres winningly sound the comic notes in the hapless newlyweds and Sandy Gore expertly grabs our attention in the weighty walk-on role of Susan's multiple sclerosis-afflicted mother, who has developed her own acerbic insights on the give and take of human relationships.

All up, this is a smart piece of programming: a clever, non-patronising and open-ended comedy with obvious cross-generational appeal.”

Jason Blake, Sydney Morning Herald

"When I first read Becky Shaw I just wanted to put down the script and jump right into rehearsals, I was so excited. What struck me the most was the writing - it was almost like a new language, Gina Gionfriddo is so sparkly and crackly and contemporary. She writes for TV’s Law and Order and I think that element of suspense is built so beautifully into this piece that it just draws you in and doesn’t let you go."
DIRECTOR ANNA CRAWFORD

Perfomance Date Performance Time
Thursday, October 25 2012 8:15pm
Friday, October 26 2012 8:15pm
Saturday, October 27 2012 5:00pm
Saturday, October 27 2012 8:30pm
Sunday, October 28 2012 5:00pm
Tuesday, October 30 2012 11:00am
Tuesday, October 30 2012 8:15pm
Wednesday, October 31 2012 8:15pm
Thursday, November 1 2012 8:15pm
Friday, November 2 2012 8:15pm
Saturday, November 3 2012 5:00pm
Saturday, November 3 2012 8:30pm
Sunday, November 4 2012 5:00pm
Tuesday, November 6 2012 11:00am
Wednesday, November 7 2012 8:15pm
Thursday, November 8 2012 11:00am
Thursday, November 8 2012 8:15pm
Friday, November 9 2012 8:15pm
Saturday, November 10 2012 5:00pm
Saturday, November 10 2012 8:30pm
Sunday, November 11 2012 5:00pm
Tuesday, November 13 2012 8:15pm
Wednesday, November 14 2012 8:15pm
Thursday, November 15 2012 11:00am
Thursday, November 15 2012 8:15pm
Friday, November 16 2012 8:15pm
Saturday, November 17 2012 5:00pm
Saturday, November 17 2012 8:30pm
Sunday, November 18 2012 5:00pm
Tuesday, November 20 2012 11:00am
Wednesday, November 21 2012 8:15pm
Thursday, November 22 2012 11:00am
Thursday, November 22 2012 8:15pm
Friday, November 23 2012 8:15pm
Saturday, November 24 2012 5:00pm
Saturday, November 24 2012 8:30pm
Sunday, November 25 2012 5:00pm
Tuesday, November 27 2012 11:00am
Tuesday, November 27 2012 8:15pm
Wednesday, November 28 2012 8:15pm
Thursday, November 29 2012 11:00am
Thursday, November 29 2012 8:15pm
Friday, November 30 2012 8:15pm
Saturday, December 1 2012 5:00pm
Saturday, December 1 2012 8:30pm

"Crawford's well-balanced cast clearly have the measure of Gionfriddo's sardonic humour.Phillips excels in the title role, by turns goofy, pitiful then edgy as Becky's passivity switches to something more passive-aggressive. Reid is very good, too, playing an archetype whose ruthless put-downs and non-PC pronouncements mask a fear of rejection rooted in a blighted childhood. Moore and Zemeres winningly sound the comic notes in the hapless newlyweds and Sandy Gore expertly grabs our attention in the weighty walk-on role of Susan's multiple sclerosis-afflicted mother, who has developed her own acerbic insights on the give and take of human relationships. All up, this is a smart piece of programming: a clever, non-patronising and open-ended comedy with obvious cross-generational appeal." JASON BLAKE, SYDNEY MORNING HERALD  Read more 

"The fully-loaded, rapid-fire exchanges...kept your head spinning...It's a bracing ride...Under Anna Crawford's direction the acting is terrific..." STAGE WHISPERS

"...oddly fascinating...excellent directing and acting..." CANBERRA CRITICS CIRCLE

 

performance-calendar-2014-new
Backstage Confessions

FEEL THE BUZZ

2014 Subscription Season
Subscribe Now

A Dramatic Gesture

Buy Ensemble gift vouchers

Buy the gift of theatre for the lovers of drama in your life today.

Buy Vouchers