Lip Service

LIP SERVICE

BY JOHN MISTO

Play 7
FROM:
AUGUST 17
DIRECTED BY:
NICOLE BUFFONI
CAST INCLUDES:
TIM DRAXL
AMANDA MUGGLETON
RUNNING TIME:
APPROX 2 HRS
(INCLUDING INTERVAL)

POST SHOW Q&A
FRIDAY, 01 SEPT
8:15PM
WEDNESDAY, 13 SEPT
11:00AM
THURSDAY, 28 SEPT
11:00AM

AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCES
THURSDAY, 21 SEPT
11:00AM & 8:15PM
SATURDAY, 23 SEPT
4:30PM

FREE TEEN NIGHT
WEDNESDAY, 27 SEPT
8:15PM

AUSTRALIAN PREMIERE

Helena Rubinstein’s towering makeup empire is under constant threat. Staving off cunning attacks from her rivals Elizabeth Arden and Revlon, she holds fast to the principles that got her to the top: thrift, ruthlessness and a take-no-prisoners steely resolve. But when she finds an unlikely confidante in personal assistant Patrick, it dawns on her that perhaps she isn’t such a hardened business woman after all.

In John Misto’s uproarious new play, Rubinstein’s astonishing career is charted from humble beginnings in country Victoria to the intoxicating heights of international success. It’s a match made in heaven as the glorious Amanda Muggleton returns to the Ensemble stage as one of the most terrifying yet oddly endearing icons of the makeup industry.

 

It’s rare for a new Australian play to have a London season before it’s even premiered in Australia. We are delighted to announce that John Misto’s LIP SERVICE will open at Park Theatre in London, playing a 5 week season from 26 April 2017, under the title MADAME RUBINSTEIN. Miriam Margolyes will be playing the role of Helena Rubinstein in the London production. The entire season of MADAME RUBINSTEIN at London’s Park Theatre has sold out before its first performance. Ensemble Theatre was the first theatre to acquire the rights to LIP SERVICE.

Prominent UK publishers, Bloomsbury Methuen Drama, are publishing John Misto’s play, MADAME RUBINSTEIN, to coincide with its world premiere at Park Theatre, London in April, 2017. This is possibly the first time a new Australian play will be published in the UK before it has had a first performance anywhere. John Misto’s new play MADAME RUBINSTEIN (opening at Ensemble under its Australian title LIP SERVICE) has generated a lot of attention before its world premiere in London. England’s Sunday Express Review section asked John Misto to write the cover story on his latest play and here is the result. 

 

“Funny, lively and bitchy… with moments of poignancy that emerge to offer some balance and gravitas… (A) profusion of one-liners that tickle, sting and amuse.”
Suzy goes see (for Dark Voyager)

“An important Australian play that pulls no punches… theatrically and historically compelling.” 
Stage Whispers (for The Shoe-Horn Sonata)

 

Performance Date Performance Time
Thursday, Aug 17 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Aug 18 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Aug 19 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Aug 19 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Aug 20 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Aug 22 2017 11:00am
Tuesday, Aug 22 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, Aug 23 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Aug 24 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Aug 25 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Aug 26 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Aug 26 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Aug 27 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Aug 29 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Aug 30 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Aug 31 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Aug 31 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Sep 1 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Sep 2 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Sep 2 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Sep 3 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 5 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, Sep 6 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Sep 7 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Sep 7 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Sep 8 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Sep 9 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Sep 9 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Sep 10 2017 5:00pm
Wednesday, Sep 13 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Sep 13 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Sep 14 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Sep 14 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Sep 15 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Sep 16 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Sep 16 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Sep 17 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 19 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, Sep 20 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Sep 21 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Sep 21 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Sep 22 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Sep 23 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Sep 23 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Sep 24 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 26 2017 11:00am
Tuesday, Sep 26 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, Sep 27 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Sep 28 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Sep 28 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Sep 29 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Sep 30 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Sep 30 2017 8:15pm