Neville's Island

NEVILLE’S ISLAND

BY TIM FIRTH

Play 5
FROM:
JUNE 29
DIRECTED BY:
MARK KILMURRY
CAST INCLUDES:
ANDREW HANSEN
DAVID LYNCH
CRAIG REUCASSEL
CHRIS TAYLOR
RUNNING TIME:
APPROX 2 HRS 10 MINS
(INCLUDING INTERVAL)

POST SHOW Q&A
FRIDAY, 14 JULY
8:15AM
WEDNESDAY , 19 JULY
11:00AM

AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCES
THURSDAY, 27 JULY
11:00AM
FRIDAY, 28 JULY
8:15PM
SATURDAY, 29 JULY
5:00PM

FREE TEEN NIGHT
TUESDAY, 01 AUGUST
8:15PM

NOMINATED FOR THE OLIVIER AND EVENING STANDARD AWARDS FOR BEST COMEDY 1992

Four city-dwelling business men set out on a team-building weekend only to become trapped on an island in the wilds of Tasmania. Team leader Neville tries to stay positive; acerbic manager Gordon turns on his companions; Roy finds comfort in his recent religious epiphany; while Angus… well, Angus has brought the latest equipment but doesn’t have a clue what to do with it. As day turns to cold, cold night, the men discover hidden vulnerabilities and unexpected strengths as they battle the elements and each other.

Tim Firth’s wicked comedy is a masterful look at men trying to make the best of a bad situation while they remain, unfortunately… men.

DOWNLOAD THE PROGRAM HERE

“A charmingly episodic romp through the Australian wilderness, Neville’s Island succeeds on the charisma of it’s enviable cast.”  
ArtsHub

Lord of the Flies meets Gilligan’s Island…Neville’s Island is a fun night at the theatre.
Sydney Chic

I can recommend NEVILLE’S ISLAND as a great theatre experience with a lot of laughs and very enjoyable performances.
Sydney Arts Guide

It’s a Tuesday night at the Ensemble, the house is close to full. Not only that, there is a smattering of younger people – teens and twentysomethings – in the audience. Such is The Chaser effect. Tickets to see this black comedy are in short supply…Kilmurry applies a sure directorial hand to the play. The pacing is steady, the production tight.
Sydney Morning Herald

Recommended for ages 12+

 

PLAYWRIGHT: TIM FIRTH
DIRECTOR: MARK KILMURRY
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR: SHAUN RENNIE
DRAMATURG: JANE FITZGERALD
DESIGNER: HUGH O’CONNOR
LIGHTING DESIGNER: BENJAMIN BROCKMAN
SOUND DESIGNER: DARYL WALLIS
STAGE MANAGER: STEPHANIE LINDWALL
WARDROBE COORDINATOR: ALANA CANCERI

 

This play touches on some serious issues, including suicide, in a humorous manner. If this leaves you needing support please call Lifeline’s 24 hr a day crisis support line 13 11 14.

Performance Date Performance Time
Tuesday, Jul 18 2017 8:15pm
Wednesday, Jul 19 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Jul 19 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Jul 20 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Jul 21 2017 11:00am
Saturday, Jul 22 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Jul 23 2017 1:30pm
Sunday, Jul 23 2017 5:00pm
Wednesday, Jul 26 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Jul 27 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Jul 27 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Jul 28 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Jul 29 2017 1:30pm
Saturday, Jul 29 2017 5:00pm
Sunday, Jul 30 2017 1:30pm
Tuesday, Aug 1 2017 8:15pm
Wednesday, Aug 2 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Aug 2 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Aug 3 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Aug 4 2017 11:00am
Saturday, Aug 5 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Aug 6 2017 1:30pm
Sunday, Aug 6 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Aug 8 2017 11:00am
Tuesday, Aug 8 2017 8:15pm
Wednesday, Aug 9 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Aug 10 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Aug 11 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Aug 12 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Aug 12 2017 8:15pm