The Plant

THE PLANT

BY KIT BROOKMAN

Play 6
FROM:
JULY 8
DIRECTED BY:
ELSIE EDGERTON-TILL
CAST INCLUDES:
SANDY GORE
RUNNING TIME:
APPROX 90 MINS
(NO INTERVAL)

POST SHOW Q&A
FRIDAY, 21 JULY
8.15PM
FRIDAY, 28 JULY
11:00AM

AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCES
WEDNESDAY, 19 JULY
6:00PM
THURSDAY, 20 JULY
11:00AM
SATURDAY, 22 JULY
5:00PM

FREE TEEN NIGHT
TUESDAY, 25 JULY
7.30PM

WORLD PREMIERE

WINNER OF THE ENSEMBLE THEATRE NEW WRITING COMMISSION 2016

Daniel is in the midst of a baby boom – all his friends are disappearing into the haze of parenthood, a world where talk of teething, controlled crying and infant bodily functions abounds. In a headstrong act of rebellion, he takes drastic steps and adopts Claire, a begonia. Buoyed by his friends’ and family’s unreserved acceptance of his ‘baby’, Daniel’s attachment to Claire soon develops beyond a joke. It’s not long before he begins to understand the chaos any new arrival can bring, be it human, animal – or vegetation.

Winner of the 2016 Ensemble Theatre New Writing Commission, Kit Brookman’s delightfully quirky play explores the highs and lows of modern parenting, with a keen and intelligent wit.

 

‘’Warm, funny, deeply felt… the work of a brilliant new writing talent who is building a reputation for crafting plays that gently but thoroughly examine the intricacies of how families really interact behind closed doors”.
Arts Review (for The Great Fire)

“Kit Brookman… confidently delivers a meaty exploration of the social and cultural changes wrought in Australia over the past 50 years”.
Limelight (for The Great Fire)

“Wonderfully assured… beautifully, delicately explored”.
The Guardian (for Small and Tired)

 

Some strong language

Recommended for ages 15+

 

 

Performance Date Performance Time
Saturday, Jul 8 2017 5:00pm
Saturday, Jul 8 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Jul 9 2017 5:00pm
Monday, Jul 10 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, Jul 12 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Jul 12 2017 6:00pm
Thursday, Jul 13 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Jul 14 2017 11:00am
Saturday, Jul 15 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Jul 16 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Jul 18 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Jul 19 2017 6:00pm
Thursday, Jul 20 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Jul 20 2017 6:00pm
Friday, Jul 21 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Jul 22 2017 1:30pm
Saturday, Jul 22 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Jul 25 2017 11:00am
Tuesday, Jul 25 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, Jul 26 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Jul 27 2017 6:00pm
Friday, Jul 28 2017 11:00am
Saturday, Jul 29 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Jul 30 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Aug 1 2017 11:00am
Tuesday, Aug 1 2017 6:00pm
Wednesday, Aug 2 2017 6:00pm
Thursday, Aug 3 2017 11:00am
Friday, Aug 4 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Aug 5 2017 1:30pm
Saturday, Aug 5 2017 5:00pm