Two

TWO

BY JIM CARTWRIGHT

Play 2
FROM:
MARCH 24
DIRECTED BY:
MARK KILMURRY
CAST INCLUDES:
BRIAN MEEGAN
KATE RAISON
RUNNING TIME:
APPROX 90 MINS
(NO INTERVAL)

POST SHOW Q&A
FRIDAY, 07 APRIL
11:00AM
FRIDAY, 21 APRIL
8:15PM

AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCES
THURSDAY, 20 APRIL
11:00AM
FRIDAY, 21 APRIL
8:15PM
SATURDAY, 22 APRIL
5:00PM

FREE TEEN NIGHT
THURSDAY, 13 APRIL
8.15PM

MANCHESTER EVENING NEWS
BEST NEW PLAY AWARD 1989

Masterfully constructed, Jim Cartwright’s timeless comedy TWO introduces fourteen colourful characters, all skilfully played by Brian Meegan and Kate Raison.

Set in the local pub, you’ll meet all the regulars, a misfit crowd of eccentric and hilarious individuals. There’s Moth, who loves Maud (and every other woman) fervently; Mrs Iger, with her passion for quiet, strong men; possessive Roy, jealous of anybody who looks at Lesley (even the darts players); Alice and Fred and their Elvis obsession; and the landlord and landlady who struggle with an unspoken secret…

By turns funny, heart-warming and poignant, TWO promises to be a lively night at the local in the company of two of our most accomplished and versatile actors.

Download the TWO program here.

 

Warmly comic…character portraits are sharp…
SMH

“Meegan is comedy gold…strong stuff beautifully performed…two exceptional actors…very fine and dazzlingly versatile.”
Stage Noise

They make a confident and jubilant pair, adept at providing entertainment and pathos with each of Two‘s warmhearted vignettes.
Suzy Goes See

“Actors Brian Meegan and Kate Raison are both excellent, playing diverse characters with precise timing and considerable nuance.”
Australian Stage Online

“Magnificently directed by Mark Kilmurry and terrifically performed by Brian Meegan and Kate Raison…At times poignant, sad and funny, this will warm the cockles of your heart.  Another pint please…”  
Lynne’s Theatre Notes

“Director Mark Kilmurry has chosen well in casting real life husband and wife Brian Meegan and Kate Raison who give something of an acting master class.”
Sydney Arts Guide

 

Recommended for ages 12+

 

PLAYWRIGHT: JIM CARTWRIGHT
DIRECTOR: MARK KILMURRY
DESIGNER: ALICIA CLEMENTS
LIGHTING DESIGNER: MATTHEW MARSHALL
SOUND DESIGNER: NEIL MCLEAN
WARDROBE COORDINATOR: ALANA CANCERI
STAGE MANAGER: REBECCA POULTER

 

TWO contains references of domestic violence against women, Ensemble Theatre is supportive of organisations such as:

White Ribbon

Australian Government Respect Campaign

Australian Women Against Violence Alliance

Performance Date Performance Time
Tuesday, Apr 11 2017 6:00pm
Wednesday, Apr 12 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Apr 12 2017 6:00pm
Thursday, Apr 13 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Apr 15 2017 2:00pm
Saturday, Apr 15 2017 5:00pm
Sunday, Apr 16 2017 5:00pm
Wednesday, Apr 19 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Apr 19 2017 6:00pm
Thursday, Apr 20 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Apr 20 2017 6:00pm
Friday, Apr 21 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Apr 22 2017 2:00pm
Saturday, Apr 22 2017 5:00pm
Sunday, Apr 23 2017 5:00pm
Wednesday, Apr 26 2017 6:00pm
Thursday, Apr 27 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Apr 27 2017 6:00pm
Friday, Apr 28 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Apr 29 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Apr 30 2017 2:00pm
Thursday, May 4 2017 11:00am
Thursday, May 4 2017 8:15pm
Friday, May 5 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, May 6 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, May 6 2017 8:15pm