Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf

EDWARD ALBEE’S WHO’S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF?

Play 4
FROM:
MAY 11
DIRECTED BY:
IAIN SINCLAIR
CAST INCLUDES:
DARREN GILSHENAN
GENEVIEVE LEMON
CLAIRE LOVERING
BRANDON MCCLELLAND
RUNNING TIME:
APPROX 3 HRS
(INCLUDING INTERVAL)

POST SHOW Q&A
FRIDAY, 26 MAY
8:15PM
THURSDAY, 1 JUNE
11:00AM
THURSDAY, 15 JUNE
11:00AM

AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCES
THURSDAY, 8 JUNE
11:00AM & 8:15PM
SATURDAY, 10 JUNE
4:30PM

FREE TEEN NIGHT
WEDNESDAY, 14 JUNE
8:15PM

TONY AWARD FOR BEST PLAY 1963

NEW YORK DRAMA CRITICS’ CIRCLE AWARD FOR BEST PLAY 1963

In Edward Albee’s superb masterpiece, academic couple George and Martha have invited their new colleagues over for drinks. It’s a seemingly innocent occasion, but there’s a hidden agenda at play. As the booze flows, the night gets darker and so does the conversation, until the drama spirals towards its explosive and cathartic conclusion.

With award-winning writer Albee’s razor-sharp script, a stunning cast and Iain Sinclair’s impeccable direction, this will be a night of unmissable theatre.

DOWNLOAD THE PROGRAM

 

★★★★
SMH

★★★★
Time Out

★★★★½ “A stunning production”
Limelight Magazine

★★★★ “The Ensemble Theatre’s new production brings George and Martha to life with…[an]…accurate sense of Albee’s wit and comedy….Director Iain Sinclair…paces the production beautifully.
Daily Review

It simply takes one’s breath away.
Sydney Arts Guide

All in all, this production is a major achievement by all. It’s engrossing, amusing, terrifying and deeply satisfying. Really recommended.”
Stage Noise

“Four actors conspire with unmistakable simpatico, to form a fascinating piece of theatre.”
Suzy Goes See

“Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf is a classic play brought to life in a stunning way by the Ensemble Theatre.”
The Plus Ones

WHO’S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF? is one of the Ensemble Theatre’s triumphs.
Sydney Chic

 

Some strong language and adult themes

Recommended for ages 15+

 

PLAYWRIGHT: EDWARD ALBEE
DIRECTOR: IAIN SINCLAIR
SET AND COSTUME DESIGNER: MICHAEL HANKIN
ASSISTANT SET AND COSTUME DESIGNER: JEREMY ALLEN
LIGHTING DESIGNER: SIAN JAMES-HOLLAND
SOUND DESIGNER: STEVE TOULMIN
STAGE MANAGER: DANIELLE IRONSIDE
WARDROBE COORDINATOR: RENATA BESLIK

 

DOWNLOAD THE MEDIA RELEASE

Performance Date Performance Time
Wednesday, May 24 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, May 25 2017 11:00am
Thursday, May 25 2017 8:15pm
Friday, May 26 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, May 27 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, May 27 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, May 28 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, May 30 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, May 31 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Jun 1 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Jun 1 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Jun 2 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Jun 3 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Jun 3 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Jun 4 2017 5:00pm
Wednesday, Jun 7 2017 11:00am
Wednesday, Jun 7 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Jun 8 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Jun 8 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Jun 9 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Jun 10 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Jun 10 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Jun 11 2017 5:00pm
Tuesday, Jun 13 2017 7:30pm
Wednesday, Jun 14 2017 8:15pm
Thursday, Jun 15 2017 11:00am
Thursday, Jun 15 2017 8:15pm
Friday, Jun 16 2017 8:15pm
Saturday, Jun 17 2017 4:30pm
Saturday, Jun 17 2017 8:15pm
Sunday, Jun 18 2017 5:00pm